An employee of a mortuary
isn't required to be licensed.
Utah Code 58-9-305. Exemptions from licensure
In addition to the exemptions from licensure in Section 58-1-307, a person may engage in the following acts included within the definition of the practice of funeral service, subject to the stated circumstances and limitations, without being licensed under this chapter:
(1) transportation of a dead human body in accordance with other applicable state and federal laws;
(2) ambulance or other emergency transportation of a dead human body;
(3) the sale of any of the following that is delivered to the buyer or the buyer's designee within 90 days after the day of the sale:
(a) funeral merchandise;
(b) headstones; or
(c) other memorial merchandise;
(4) the performance of funeral, graveside, or memorial services by:
(a) a member of the clergy;
(b) a member of the decedent's family; or
(c) any other recognized individual;
(5) assisting a Utah licensed funeral service director regarding disasters or special emergencies by individuals licensed in other states...
(6) activities of an unlicensed individual employed by a funeral service establishment...
(7) nonprofessional tasks or activities which:
(a) do not require independent professional judgment; and
(b) are required of persons employed by a funeral service establishment under the supervision of a funeral service director.
Amended by Chapter 144, 2007 General Session
Why pay $400 or more for a mortuary to be present at your chapel for a visitation? and $400 more at the funeral? and $400 more at the graveside? If you can conduct a meeting you can do these things yourselves.
If you do not receive remuneration then you are performing nonprofessional tasks
When you transport your dead after an initial emergency you must possess a burial transit permit: Instructions